A thoughtful blog that I came across. It is true that we have forgotten to write on paper, specially in ink. Maybe I will start using an ink pen again soon.

Scribe Doll's Musings

I am sitting on a wooden bench, by the red-brick wall of a small Elizabethan palace.  I am leaning against the arm-rest.  My legs, stretched out before me, take up two thirds of the seat, and my bare toes are wriggling with the pleasure of sunshine.  Behind the bench, a few sprigs of lavender nod to the breeze, and express their soothing fragrance.  The self-satisfied gurgle of the Tudor courtyard fountain is caressing my soul.  Somewhere in the vicinity, a crow is cawing.  I sense mockery in his or her tone.  On my lap, is my usual A4 spiral notebook; in my hand, my usual fountain pen.

A gentleman and his wife stop to ask me directions for the café in the park.  Before I have a chance to point, he exclaims, “Oh, my goodness – you’re writing! And with a proper pen! It’s ages since I’ve seen anyone…

View original post 1,006 more words

About Pranab Narayan Jha

I am an eternal student, wanting to learn something from everyone. Currently living in Houston, USA. The purpose of this blog is to write about things I find interesting and also, through it, read what other people write and think. Some of my interests are football (soccer), my work which involves fluid flow, learning about India and its ancient history.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. mbwilliams says:

    There is certainly something different about writing with a pen – a good pen. It is the ‘feel’, like with so many things, that makes it a different experience to writing straight onto a monitor. Still, the gift of writing, expressing our inner being, is independent of the media, I think, but it is certainly a worthwhile exercise to go back to the pen now and again.

  2. 5arabee6 says:

    Write or type; I’ve always wondered what works best for me.
    On a daily basis, I’ve been keeping hand-written journals for years now. Sitting down somewhere, taking out your book and writing while strangers walk by is something I enjoyed doing.
    However, recently I’ve started to use the iPhone’s note app to write, simply because it’s more convenient than writing (i.e. can do it while driving. I’m not recommending it, but I’m just saying it’s possible).

    To put it simply, pleasure-wise? Hands down writing on paper. Practicality? Typing.

    • PNJ says:

      Can’t say which one is better, as I only type on my computer. I hate typing on my phone though. Writing on paper is definitely a pleasure, as you mentioned. But my work demands that I type on the computer most of the time.
      But yes, I love writing on paper though it has decreased a lot in the last few years.

Leave a Reply

