Advancing Technology

Till some time back, before I came to US, I was opposed to too much technological advancements that affect everyday life. But not any more. I still am opposed to technology that wants us to change for the bad, only for shallow comfort and bare show-off (though a little big is OK). But when I started my graduate studies at Univ of Houston, I started to get an idea of how technology can change lives for the good.

In my last post I wrote about Dr. Cohn’s speech in our college about how technology need not necessarily be an overly money-sucking pot that, at the end of the day, gives us the ultimate elixir. If it does solve the problem of drinking water in many parts of the world, help us to rely less on the rainforests or reduces emissions from vehicles by going greener, I support it. My roommate does not agree with me. He thinks that combining technology with life is not at all good for us humans. He owns a phone and an Internet connection to go along with it. But does not use the power of the net. He thinks it makes humans more dependent on technology and makes us more handicapped in terms of using our own brain. Be it any kind of technology. (Of course he had not heard of Pranav Mistry before yesterday).And just after this piece of conversation I asked him what the time was. He took a look at his cellphone. 🙂 And I told him what I thought. Why did he not go all the way upstairs to look for his watch.

And after that, an idea struck me. In 1995, not all people in India had even used a telephone in their life. Fast forward 20 years and I think 90% of my countrymen have used the mobile at least once, even if it is not their own. Technology has brought people together without the need of a wire channel to be dug in the village and the danger of the wire being damaged and the whole village be cut off from the rest of the country for several weeks, given that it was the only telephone in the livesof so many villagers. Now, my uncle uses his mobile to select the best customer for his yield of green chillies or corn that particular day and stays in constant touch with his assistants he sends to the markets. He does not have to go all by himself… So back to the idea… It is not going to be very long before the power of information at one’s service is used without a device. How about me not having a mobile phone with me but still be able to connect to the internet at my will. I will only have to go to the nearest AT&T or Verizon store to get my name signed on for the service. I will now have access to all the information in the world without carrying a mobile phone. I am myself a walking mobile phone. I will just wink and get a keypad on my palm and start talking.

Similarly, there is another concept of the pseudo roof- a roof that is not there at all. My friend I mentioned about earlier, told me about this. He said this is just a concept. But I think this is the future and will give a roof above the heads of millions of people in the world. You don’t have to spend too much. Just for the service from one of the roof-providers. They will set you up for some kind of mechanism. You will have four walls (or even the walls can be pseudo). You cannot look through this wall. Light cannot penetrate it. Neither can matter. Rain will just fall against virtually nothing and bounce back. No once can invade your privacy as they cannot look through the walls. You can stay safe in your home. But there is nothing there.

Of course, this is just my imagination taken a bit too far. But you never know when this will be a possibility. I say before 2050.Want to bet? [:D]

About Pranab Narayan Jha

I am an eternal student, wanting to learn something from everyone. Currently living in Houston, USA. The purpose of this blog is to write about things I find interesting and also, through it, read what other people write and think. Some of my interests are football (soccer), my work which involves fluid flow, learning about India and its ancient history.
This entry was posted in 1 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

