Welcome 2010

My first new year celebrations out of India this time, and it came off really good for my own expectations.

I headed out to my friend’s place on new year’s eve. I had no other place to go like many other desis in US. 🙂 So I planned to have drinks at night with my friends. Payal being away at NJ, I had a good reason to drink. Vodka was the chosen medium to get ‘high’. So now we are 5 guys-me n 4 other gujjus- at their apt. We watched a couple of episodes of some funny shows. Then came a call to one of these guys. A girl! Gujjus are far more social and have far more friends in the fairer sex than any other type of desis. So this girl asks all these 4 guys to go out with her to some club. She did not have someone to go out while her roomie (who is a white chick) was going with her BF to this club in Clearlake, called the “The Big Texas” Yayyyyyyy… So this guy says that he already has a friend (Me) at their apt and they cannot leave me alone. So this girl asks to take me too to this place. So now all  5 of us get ready and head out.

We reached the place just 5 minutes before the New Year rings in. And the place was awesome. Filled with people of all age groups above 21 (who are legally allowed to consume alcohol in US), it had a dance club with a bar, of course. The couples were dancing and I was missing my sweetie.

Big Texas Dance Hall

Ok. So now we went to the bar and started with a beer first. I personally do not like beer too much. Not cup of beer. [:-)] But socially I sometimes take it. Now I have had all kinds of drinks before, but I had never tasted tequila. So we had our first tequila shots, me n my friend Swapnil. And then the second. Coz the first one was tasted good.

Started to kick in a bit, but not too much, after 10 minutes. We enjoyed the atmosphere. People bustling with energy. The new year was ushered in with a loud band and noise. The music was superb. All recent hits mixed with some typical texas/southern blues style music. The men were wearing their cowboy hats which is customary in this part of the US. Amazing!

We went for another two shots of tequila. It felt quite good. In the meanwhile a couple of the guys had gulped down 4-5 shots and they were acting cranky under the influence. We were watching hot ladies on the dance floor. They were really getting their act now with some thumping music. I loved the typical Zydeco which the locals performed very well. The women were equal to it. I just cannot tell you how hot some of the ladies were. Specially with their steamy moves on the dance floor. Check out the videos. (Sorry to all the ladies who are featured in the videos if you feel bad. No offence meant here!)

And then 3 girls approached the group to dance. The guys were shy. I was not drunk at all, but still was feeling the tequila shots a bit. I jumped onto the invitation and for 5 minutes Houstonians were treated to my live performance. [:)] The other guys, couple of whom were drunk, later joined in and the girls left after one number only. But it was great fun.

We headed for home at around 3 am in the morning. It was a fun-filled night altogether. I missed Poppu a lot. Yes! I can only imagine how great it would have been if I would have gone to that place with her. Hope 2010 is a great year.

About Pranab Narayan Jha

I am an eternal student, wanting to learn something from everyone. Currently living in Houston, USA. The purpose of this blog is to write about things I find interesting and also, through it, read what other people write and think. Some of my interests are football (soccer), my work which involves fluid flow, learning about India and its ancient history.
This entry was posted in 1 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

