Feeling inspired

Its nearly 3 hours past midnight here in Houston. The weather outside is chilly. Had a thanksgiving dinner at some generous family’s place. Great food. Great everything. Before the food, everyone had to say something, be thankful for something.
“I am thankful for everything.” is what I said. I am thankful for my parents, loved ones, friends, everybody, all I have now and all I will have in future. Everything looks just fine in life. But everything is not as good as it looks. There is a constant buzz going on inside my mind. A buzz that never lets me forget that I have, till now, done nothing great. Nothing extraordinary that my loved-ones can be proud of. Sometimes I feel inspired when I read some article. And that is the case today. I read the beautiful and inspiring poem of Chhayavad era called “Pushp ki Abhilasha” written by Makhanlal Chaturvedi. I read this in 8th Std in school. It goes like this:

“चाह नहीं मैं सुरबाला के गहनों में गूथा जाऊं
चाह नहीं प्रेमी माला में बिंध प्यारी को ललचाऊं
चाह नहीं सम्राटों के शव पर हे हरी डाला जाऊं
चाह नहीं देवों के सर पर चढूं भाग्य पर इठलाऊं.
मुझे तोड़ लेना वनमाली, उस पथ पर देना तुम फेंक
मात्रभूमि पर शीश चढाने जिस पथ जायें वीर अनेक.”

Times have changed, and so have definitions of some of the words from the above lines. But the main idea remains the same. The intent is still to serve your country. Not by laying down your life, but by doing things that my country would be proud of, and owing it first to my mother, my motherland and then to anyone else. And I believe thats what a true Indian would do. In recent times, India has lost a sense of belongingness. The people have lost the faith, the way, the belief in that very idea that binds all of them together. The terrorists within, and outside the country have tried to destroy that sense of nationalism from the minds of the people by creating divides and breaking bonds. But I believe that India as a nation is too strong for some petty minded people to hurt its feelings, its binding. India will emerge stronger than ever before allaying all doubts and fears from the minds of its own people. India will be victorious. And that victory has to come from the work and sense of nationalism of people like me. I have to work towards making this happen. I would love to be the flower that can be associated with a good cause for the good of my country, my nation, my motherland.
Proud to be an Indian!

About Pranab Narayan Jha

I am an eternal student, wanting to learn something from everyone. Currently living in Houston, USA. The purpose of this blog is to write about things I find interesting and also, through it, read what other people write and think. Some of my interests are football (soccer), my work which involves fluid flow, learning about India and its ancient history.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

